No. 1 — Pages 38-39: Moacyr Silva | Orquestra Os Bossambistas | Os Saxsambistas Brasileiros

  • Dionysio — Sax Magia
    (1960) Internacional CID 27020
  • Os Saxsambistas Brasileiros — Sax Sambando
    (1960) Plaza PZ 303
  • Orquestra Os Bossambistas — Só Danço Samba
    (196?) DIMP D-1014
  • Moacyr Silva — É Tempo de Samba
    (1963) Copacabana CLP 11291 [LP]
  • Moacyr Silva — É Tempo de Samba
    (1963) Copacabana 3374 [EP]
  • Moacyr Silva — Temas Inesquecíveis
    (1962) Som SOLP 40178
  • Bolão — Baile de Brotos
    (1961) RCA Camden CALB 5036
  • Bob Fleming — Sax Spectacular
    (1958) Masterpiece Master 547

On this double-page spread from the book, the voluptuous lady on the right attracts interest for Bob Fleming’s 1958 debut record Sax Spectacular. Actually this was the first album recorded by renowned Moacyr Silva with the alias of Bob Fleming. Whereas other Brazilian musicians used their aliases mainly to record a different repertoire or style, the change of name effected the final boost in Moacyr Silva’s career.

Moacyr Pinto da Silva (1918-2002) was probably Brazil’s busiest sax player releasing about 40 albums in just 14 years from 1956 to 1970 under his own name, and one with the alias of Ted Fleming. The about 20 albums with the alias of Bob Fleming are special as Moacyr Silva shared this alias with Zito Righi. In fact, only the first two Bob Fleming albums were recorded by Moacyr Silva whereas the subsequent albums featured Zito Righi.

Apart from his own albums, Moacyr Silva also appeared as a session player on numerous recordings as well as in groups such as Os Cobras (the 1960 outfit) and the American Dancing Quartet. He recorded collaboration albums with singers Elizeth Cardoso, Marisa Gata Mansa, Francineth and Mara Silva, besides being a composer, arranger, conductor and producer.

His father was the conductor of the municipal orchestra in Moacyr Silva’s hometome. He played the piccolo at a local club at the age of ten and started to learn the tenor saxophone shortly after. At 17, after his family moved to Rio de Janeiro, he joined a military band. He was invited to play at parties and subsequently played bigger venues such as the casinos in Rio de Janeiro where he became musical director of the Copacabana Palace. In 1953 he formed his own group with Sacha Rubin on piano, Célio on bass and Dom Um Romão on drums, performing in nightclubs for Dolores Duran and Francineth. In the late fifties, Nilo Sérgio, owner of the label Musidisc, suggested to record an album with international hits, and invented the alias of Bob Fleming for it. In the sixties Moacyr Silva started his fifteen year stint as artistic director with the Copacabana label, but from 1970 his presence has diminished considerably.

Playlist Moacyr Silva:
1. Murmúrio (Djalma Ferreira – Luis Antônio) from the album Samba é Bom Assim (1961)
2. Esperame (Alfredo Silvera Lima) from the album Sax Voz (1960)
3. Theme from ‘Picnic’ (George Duning – Steve Allen) from the album É Tempo de Bolero (1962)
4. Saudade Esperança (Jota Júnior – Alcyr Pires Vermelho) from the album Samba é Bom Assim No. 2 (1965)
5. Lamento Bebop (Luis Reis – Haroldo Barbosa) from the album Sax Sensacional No. 3 (1962)
6. Softly, As In a Morning Sunrise (Sigmund Romberg – Oscar Hammerstein II) from the album Sax Sensacional (1960)
7. A Felicidade – Outro Sol em Nosso Amor (Antônio Carlos Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes – Jean Pierre – Nélio Augusto) from the album É Tempo de Samba (1963)
8. Without A Song (Vincent Youmans – Billy Rose – Edward Eliscu) from the album Sax Spectacular (1958) as Bob Fleming

Several of Moacyr Silva’s albums show beautiful art work especially if designed by Masterpiece. The art work for Sax Spectacular is by Nélia Paula.

Moacyr Silva — É Tempo de Samba (1961) a

Moacyr Silva — É Tempo de Samba (1961) b


The 1971 reissue of Sax Magia by Tropicana shows the original art work from 1960 in a different colour setting, though still uncredited. Moreover, Sax Magia was originally released also as  Sax em Orbita.

    Dionysio — Sax Magia (1971 reissue)

Dionysio — Sax em Orbita (1960) a    Dionysio — Sax em Orbita (1960) b

Orquestra Os Bossambistas aka Bossa Brass was a studio group performing quite entertaining instrumental renditions of standards by Antônio Carlos Jobim with Clério Ribeiro and José Barreto on cornet, Waldemar Moura on trombone, Fats Elpídio on piano, Geraldo Vespar on guitar, Waltel Branco and Waldir Marinho on bass, Reizinho on drums, and Gilson Mello on percussion.

Playlist Orquestra Os Bossambistas aka Bossa Brass:
1. Água de Beber (Antônio Carlos Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes) from the album Só Danço Samba (196?)
2. Vivo Sonhando (Antônio Carlos Jobim) f from the album Só Danço Samba (196?)

Os Saxsambistas Brasileiros and Orquestra Os Bossambistas share the same colourful cover design by Michel Schachter on their 1960 releases, although by different record labels. To make it even more puzzling, both albums have been released with various covers: Os Saxsambistas Brasileiros’ Sax Sambando was released simultaneously in 1960 with two different art works but the same title. Orquestra Os Bossambistas’ Só Danço Samba from 196? was issued in 1966 with a different cover, title and artist name as Bossa Brass Apresenta a Maravilhosa Música de Antônio Carlos Jobim by Bossa Brass.




Thank you for your response!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s