No. 20 — Pages 186-187: Som Nove | J.T. Meirelles

  • Luiz Loy — Balanço Pra’ Frente
    (1968) London/Odeon LLB 1042
  • Aristides Santos — Naquele Abanço
    (196?) Tema TM-2.002
  • Luizinho — Chorando Baixinho
    (1972) AMC LP 5122
  • Sebastião Tapajós — Sebastião Tapajós e Sua Guitarra Cósmica
    (1969) Forma VDL 114
  • Beagá Band’s — Legal!
    (196?) Paladium PAL 204
  • Samba 5 — Moderninho
    (1970) Tropicana TRO 3031
  • Ed Maciel — Na Onda Vol. 3
    (1967) London/Odeon LLB 1022
  • Milton Banana — Milton Banana Trio
    (1970) MOFB 3635
  • Som Nove — Som Nove
    (1968) Ritmos/Codil CDL 13010
  • Lincoln Olivetti — Hit Parade No. 1
    (1970) Musidisc Hi-Fi 7551
  • Garra Brasileira — Sucessos Contagiantes em Ritmo de Samba
    (1974) Som Livre 403.6038
  • Ed Maciel — Superstereo
    (1974) Copacabana COLP 11774
  • J. T. Meirelles — Brazilian Beat Vol. 2
    (1967) London/Odeon LLB 1029
  • J.T. Meirelles — Brazilian Beat Vol. 4
    (1969) London/Odeon LLB 1059
  • Vox Populi — Vox Populi
    (1967) Musidisc Hi-Fi 2213
  • Os Populares — Os Populares
    (1967) RCA Victor BBL 1410


This double-page spread from the book features one-time project Som Nove and musical all-rounder J.T. Meirelles.

Som Nove was a studio group by arranger and saxophonist Kuntz Naegele (*1931) with himself on alto saxophone, Moacyr Marques ‘Bijú’ on tenor saxophone, Alberto Viana Gonçalves on baritone saxophone, Wagner Naegele on cornet and flute, Luis Cândido da Costa ‘Pirulito’ on trumpet, Macaé on trombone, Miguel Cidrás on piano, Luis Marinho on bass and Durval dos Reis ‘Reizinho’ on drums. The nine-piece band recorded just one album, the self-titled Som Nove of 1968, featuring swinging renditions of  contemporary hits by Adylson Godoy, Moacir Santos, Chico Buarque and others.

Playlist Som Nove:
1. Sou Sem Paz (Adylson Godoy) from the album Som Nove (1968)
2. Amanhã (Walter Santos – Tereza Souza) from the album Som Nove (1968)
3. Samba Pro Pedrinho (Walter Santos) from the album Som Nove (1968)

The vibrant art work for Som Nove is by Joselito with photograph by Mafra.

Beagá Band’s — Legal (a1)   


Ed Maciel — Na Onda Vol. 3    Ed Maciel — Na Onda Vol. 3 (b)

Ed Maciel — Superstereo

Samba 5 — Moderninho (a)    Samba 5 — Moderninho (b)

Aristides Santos — Naquele Abanço

Vox Populi — Vox Populi

The art work for Sebastião Tapajós e Sua Guitarra Cósmica is by Lincoln with photograph by Gaúcho.


The art work for Milton Banana Trio is by Moacyr Rocha with photograph by Tama Sigulda.


The art work for Os Populares is by Joselito with photograph by Mafra.


João Theodoro Meirelles (1940-2008), better known as J.T. Meirelles or simply Meirelles, was a true all-rounder playing the saxophone and the flute but also working as an arranger, an orchestra leader, a producer and a music teacher. He started his musical education at the age of eight, and later studied composition and arrangement at the Berklee School of Music in Boston. At 17, his career took off as a soloist for João Donato and Luiz Loy. In 1962, he spent some time in the U.S. recording the album Cool Samba with the alias João & His Bossa Kings. Back to Brazil in 1963, he arranged the original version of Mas Que Nada by Jorge Ben which not only became the number one song of that year in Brazil but internationally one of the most famous songs associated with Brazilian pop music. This success earned J.T. Meirelles a contract with Philips where he recorded his first solo album, entitled O Som, a landmark of samba jazz, with his group Os Copa 5 consisting of Luis Carlos Vinhas  on piano, Pedro Paulo on trumpet, Manoel Gusmão on bass and Dom Um Romão on drums. For the equally excellent follow-up in 1964, entitled O Nôvo Som, Os Copa 5 was reformed with Eumir Deodato on piano, Roberto Menescal and Waltel Branco on guitar, Manoel Gusmão on bass and Édison Machado on drums.

From 1965 to 1975 J.T. Meirelles moved to Odeon, mainly working as arranger, producer and orchestra leader. In 1969 he formed Os Copa 7 with Dom Salvador on piano, Juarez Araújo on tenor sax, Maurílio Santos on trumpet, Sérgio Barroso on bass, Robertinho Silva on drums and Chico Batera, Helcio Milito, Jorge Arena, Luna and Pedro dos Santos on percussion, recording the album Tropical.

J.T. Meirelles participated in famous outfits like Os Cobras, Os Gatos, and Waltel Branco’s project on Mancini Também é Samba. In concerts he worked as arranger, conductor and producer with countless major artists such as Sylvia Telles, Agostinho dos Santos, Leny Andrade, Tito Madi, Dóris Monteiro and Geraldo Vandré.

Playlist J.T. Meirelles:
1. Solo (João Theodoro Meirelles) from the album O Novo Som (1964) with Os Copa 5
2. Solitude (João Theodoro Meirelles) from the album O Som (1963) with Os Copa 5
3. Batucada (Luiz Bonfá) from the album Cool Samba (1962) as João & His Bossa Kings
4. Contemplação (João Theodoro Meirelles) from the album O Som (1963) with Os Copa 5
5. Fuego (Donald Byrd) from the album Tropical (1969) with Os Copa 7
6. Você (Roberto Menescal – Ronaldo Bôscoli) from the album O Novo Som (1964) with Os Copa 5
7. Quintessência (João Theodoro Meirelles) from the album O Som (1963) with Os Copa 5

Consolação performed by J.T. Meirelles on flute and Rosinha de Valença on guitar on the German TV show Folklore Der Welt: Bossa Nova do Brasil (1966) with Don Salvador on piano, Sérgio Barroso on bass, Chico Batera on drums and Rubens Bassini on pandeiro

The art work for Brazilian Beat Vol. 2 and Brazilian Beat Vol. 4 is uncredited.



One thought on “No. 20 — Pages 186-187: Som Nove | J.T. Meirelles

Thank you for your response!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.