No. 21 — Pages 150-151: Tito Madi | Luiz Cláudio

  • Luiz Cláudio — O Romántico Luiz Claudio
    (1961) RCA Victor BBL 1111
  • Luiz Cláudio — Encontro com Luiz Cláudio
    (1956) Columbia LPCB 35022
  • Tito Madi — E a Chuva Continua
    (1959) Continental LPP 3081
  • Maysa — Maysa
    (1957) RGE RLP 015
  • Moacyr Silva — Moacyr Silva
    (1956) Copacabana CLP 3081
  • Luiz Bonfá — Alta Versatilidade
    (1957) Odeon MOFB 3003
  • Leny Andrade — A Sensação
    (1961) RCA Victor BBL 1128
  • Francisco Petrônio, Dilermando Reis — Uma Voz e um Violão em Serenata
    (1962) Continental PPL 12038


This double-page spread from the book features the crooners Tito Madi and Luiz Cláudio.

Chauki Maddi (*1929), better known as Tito Madi, is considered as one of Brazil’s greatest singer-songwriters, renowned for his romantic ballads such as Chove Lá Fora, Não Diga Não, Cansei de Ilusão, Olhe-me, Diga-me, Carinho e Amor and Amor e Paz. A child of Libanese immigrants, he grew up in a musical family listening to people playing instruments all around him. He was playing the guitar, the lute and the mandolin himself, performing at school parties and other venues. In 1946 he started working for radio stations as a speaker and writer, before he enjoyed his first recording in 1952. In 1957 the self-penned single Chove Lá Fora b/w Gauchinha Bem Querer became his first big success and Chove Lá Fora the title track of his debut album with more than forty albums to follow. Chove Lá Fora was also covered in the U.S. as It’s Raining Outside by Della Reese as well as The Platters, who also covered Rio Triste as Sad River and Quero-te assim as I Wish.

In 1959, Tito Madi recorded the album Encontro no Sábado with singer and pianist Nelly Martins, arranged and conducted by her husband Radamés Gnattali, who also arranged and conducted Tito Madi’s beautiful follow-up album Quero-te Assim. The following year Madi collaborated with pianist and composer Ribamar on the album Carinho e Amor. In 1961 arranger and conductor Lyrio Panicali supported Tito Madi on the album Canção dos Olhos Tristes which included the marvellous É Fácil Dizer Adeus, a very popular composition by Tito Madi introduced the previous year by Elizeth Cardoso and Moacyr Silva on their album Sax – Voz.

In the mid-sixties Tito Madi reduced his mostly lush orchestral settings to more intimate backings. In the early seventies he enjoyed another big success with the album series A Fossa Vol. 1-4, cleverly reviving ballads like Canção de Amor by Chocolate and Elano de Paula, and Molambo by Jaime Florence ‘Meira’ and Augusto Mesquita in a contemporary style along with more recent songs.

The lyrical singer became one of the few not only to successfully change from fifties samba-canção to sixties bossa nova but to affect both with his compositions.

Playlist Tito Madi:
1. Quero-te Assim (Tito Madi) from the single Se Todos Fossem Iguais a Você b/w Quero-te Assim (1957) and the album Quero-te Assim (1959)
2. É Fácil Dizer Adeus (Tito Madi) from the album Canção dos Olhos Tristes (1961)
3. Carinho e Amor (Tito Madi) from the album Carinho e Amor – Tito Madi/Ribamar (1960)
4. Chove Lá Fora (Tito Madi) from the album Chove Lá Fora (1957)
5. Além do Céu (Édson Borges – Sidney Morais) from the album Quero-te Assim (1959)
6. Duas Vidas (Esdras Pereira da Silva – Ribamar) from the album Chove Lá Fora (1957)
7. Está Nascendo um Samba (Tito Madi – Romeo Nunes) from the album Amor e Paz (1963)
8. Olhar Só Por Olhar (Tito Madi) from the album Sonho e Esperança (1961)
9. Deixa o Morro Cantar (Tito Madi) from the single Deixa o Morro Cantar b/w As Flores Também Vivem De Amor (1965) and the album Balanço Zona Sul e Outros Sucessos (1966)
10. Franqueza (Denis Brean – Osvaldo Guilherme) from the album Tito Madi em Nova Dimensão (1968)

Balanço Zona Sul and Minha performed by Tito Madi with Luiz Melo Trio on TV (1972)

The art work for E a Chuva Continua perfectly radiates the atmosphere of this compilation of early hits by Tito Madi.

Tito Madi — E a Chuva Continua (a)

Tito Madi — E a Chuva Continua (b)

Leny Andrade — A Sensação (a)    Leny Andrade — A Sensação (b)


Francisco Petrônio, Dilermando Reis — Uma Voz e um Violão em Serenata (a)    Francisco Petrônio, Dilermando Reis — Uma Voz e um Violão em Serenata (b)

Maysa — Maysa

The original art work for Luiz Bonfá’s Alta Versatilidade was reworked for the US showing a cover from the same series of photographs but without the female admirer.


Luiz Cláudio de Castro (1935-2013) was playing the ukulele at the age of seven and started his musical career at the age of 14 as part of the trio Trovadores do Luar, singing for Rádio Inconfidência de Belo Horizonte, before graduating from Escola Nacional de Arquitetura Rio de Janeiro. In 1952, he recorded the first of some 40 singles including Bem Juntinhos, Joga a Rede No Mar, Este Seu Olhar, Suas Mãos, and Só Deus, which were big hits in their time. In 1957, Luiz Cláudio also introduced Tito Madi’s Quero-te Assim on single with Anda Jerico as b-side, and, in 1960, scored another success with his rendition of Tito’s Madis Carinho e Amor. In 1956, Encontro com Luiz Cláudio was the first of his ten original albums, including also his first self-penned compositions. His songs like Deixa A Nega Gingar and Noite de Ficar Sozinho were appreciated by the likes of Elza Soares, Trio Surdina and Elizeth Cardoso.

Having a velvety tenor voice, Luiz Cláudio was most notably known during his heydey as a crooner with orchestral backing. On his later albums he used to perform with the more laid-back bossa nova tinge.

Playlist Luiz Cláudio:
1. Bem Juntinhos (Bueno Braga – Moacir Lima) from the album Bem Juntinhos (1959)
2. Tira Esse Sorriso do Caminho (Ivon Cury) from the album O Romántico Luiz Claudio (1961)
3. Recado (Djalma Ferreira – Luis Antônio) from the single Venus b/w Recado (1959)
4. Basta Olhar Pra Mim (Édson Menezes – Roberto Faissal) from the album O Romántico Luiz Claudio (1961)
5. Joga a Rede no Mar (Fernando César – Nazareno de Brito) from the album Encontro com Luiz Claudio (1956)
6. Quero-te Assim (Tito Madi) from the album Bem Juntinhos (1959)
7. Razão (Alberto Arantes – Sérgio Bittencourt) from the album Entre Nós (1966)

Luiz Cláudio’s album covers followed the trends of his time showing the singer mostly in romantic settings with his guitar.

   Luiz Cláudio — Encontro com Luiz Cláudio (b)


Thank you for your response!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.