No. 24 — Pages 18-19: Mara Silva | Trio Surdina

  • Orquestra Violinos de Ouro — Boleros
    (1963) Odeon MOFB 3352
  • Mara Silva — Sucessos em Teleco-Teco
    (1962) Copacabana CLP 11238
  • Henrique Simonetti — Accarezzame
    (1958) RGE XRLP 5019
  • Nelson Gonçalves — Buquê de Melodias
    (1958) RCA Victor BPL 17
  • Trio Surdina, Pierre Kolmann — Boleros em Hi-Fi
    (1958) Musidisc Hi-Fi 2018
  • Les 4 Cadillacs — Doucement Mon Amour
    (1961) Masterpiece Master 11029
  • Dolores Duran — A Noite de Dolores
    (1960) Copacabana CLP 11140
  • Ribamar — Ribamar Interpreta Dolores Duran
    (1969) RCA Camden CALB 5231
  • Trio Surdina — Ouvindo Trio Surdina
    (1955) Musidisc DL-1006
  • Orquestra Pan American — Star Dust Samba
    (1959) Musidisc Hi-Fi 2035


This double-page spread from the book features the widely unknown songstress Mara Silva and the widely known Trio Surdina.

Isabel Gomes da Silva, artistically known as Mara Silva (*1930), is one the singers wrongly known only to insiders. She started her career at the age of five with appearances on Rádio Mayrink Veiga in Rio de Janeiro. In 1953, the single Negro Fim b/w Recalque became her debut with 16 more singles to follow until 1963. Joining RGE in 1957, she sang mostly carnival songs, including her recording of Cadê Isabel with the Escola de Samba Acadêmicos do Salgueiro in 1958, and her duet with Ângela Maria, O Sono de Dolores in 1959. In the same year, Mara Silva switched labels to Copacabana, still concentrating on carnival sambas, and rarely recording different styles like her self-penned rock ‘n’ roll ditty O Roque Errou in 1960. Two years later, Mara Silva finally recorded the only solo album of her career, the fabulous Sucessos em Teleco-Teco, with splendid arrangments by Pachequinho for orchestra and chorus under direction of Moacyr Silva (no relation). The track list includes the haunting Pecado by Carlos Bahr, Enrique Francini and Armando Pontier with words by the singer herself, Cauby Peixoto’s classic Tarde Fria by Ângelo Apolônio ‘Poly’ and Henrique Lobo, and a swinging rendition of Rosa de Maio by Custódio Mesquita and Evaldo Ruy, a song introduced by Carlos Galhardo in 1944.

Playlist Mara Silva:
1. Pecado (Carlos Bahr – Enrique Francini – Armando Pontier – Mara Silva) from the album Sucessos em Teleco-Teco (1962)
2. História de um Amor (Historia de un Amor) (Carlos Almarán – Édson Borges) from the album Sucessos em Teleco-Teco (1962)
3. Tarde Fria (Ângelo Apolônio ”Poly” – Henrique Lobo) from the album Sucessos em Teleco-Teco (1962)
4. Rosa de Maio (Custódio Mesquita – Evaldo Ruy) from the album Sucessos em Teleco-Teco (1962)
5. Quando o Tempo Passar (Herivelto Martins – David Nasser) from the album Sucessos em Teleco-Teco (1962)

The art work for Sucessos em Teleco-Teco is by Sérgio Malta.





Fafá Lemos (Rafael Lemos Júnior, 1921-2004) on violin and vocals, Garôto (Aníbal Augusto Sardinha, 1915-1955 ) on guitar and Chiquinho do Acordeom (Romeu Seibel, 1928-1993) first appeared as an all-star trio on a Rádio Nacional show called “Música em Surdina” in early 1951, but it was not until late 1952, after a string of appearances, until the trio was formally announced as Trio Surdina. This original formation recorded four albums in 1953 and 1954, becoming one of the critically most acclaimed acts in their time. Besides, the enormous success of this rather uncommon combination of soloists helped to establish Nilo Sérgio’s Musidisc as an innovating and creative label.

    Trio Surdina — Ouvindo Trio Surdina (b)

Since all three musicians continued their own careers, the group was separated at times and it became ever more difficult to record together. Fafá Lemos temporarily went to the US, leaving recorded material to be used in his absence on the fourth album. After Chiquinho’s return from touring Argentina, Trio Surdina gave their farewell appearance in summer of 1954. Nevertheless, the original Trio Surdina could not have lasted in any case as Garôto died a year later at the age of 40. The group’s name was preserved with various subsequent formations, including Al Quincas and Patané on violin, Nestor Campos and Waltel Branco on guitar, Chiquinho do Acordeom and Gaúcho on accordion, until the release of the fourteenth and final album in 1963. The original Trio Surdina is considered as a precursor of sambalanço and bossa nova acts.

Playlist Trio Surdina:
1. Tenderly (Walter Lloyd Gross – Jack Lawrence) from the album Trio Surdina (1953)
2. Não Tem Solução (Dorival Caymmi – Carlos Guinle) from the album Trio Surdina Interpreta Noel Rosa e Dorival Caymmi (1953)
3. Ninguém Me Ama (Fernando Lobo – Antônio Maria) from the album Trio Surdina (1953)
4. Duas Contas (Garôto) from the album Trio Surdina (1953)
5. Besame Mucho (Consuelo Velázquez) from the album Boleros em Hi-Fi (1958) with João Leal Brito ‘Britinho’ aka Pierre Kolmann on piano

The art work for Boleros em Hi-Fi is by Joselito with photograph by Mafra. The voguish model is indicated as Ruth Christensen.

The art work for Orquestra Pan American’s Star Dust Samba is by Joselito with photograph by Mafra, featuring model Ninon Rose.


The art work for Orquestra Violinos de Ouro’s Boleros is by Moacyr Rocha with photograph by Arturo Cires Marles.


The ravishing art work for Doucement Mon Amour is by Joselito with photograph by Mafra. Les 4 Cadillacs are featured in article → No. 5.


Thank you for your response!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.