Song No. 201 — O Que Eu Gosto de Você | Sylvio Cézar (1962)

O Que Eu Gosto de Você was introduced in December 1962 by Sylvio Rodrigues Silva, better known as Sylvio Cézar (or Silvio César), as the B-side of the single Preciso Dar um Jeito. Arranged by Ed Lincoln, O Que Eu Gosto de Você also appeared on Cezar’s 1963 debut album Amor Demais.

Although it was only released as a B-side by Cézar himself and also by Pery Ribeiro, O Que Eu Gosto de Você quickly became one of the most popular songs by Cézar.

Dóris Monteiro’s recording, under the artistic direction of Armando Pittigliani, was accompanied by Walter Wanderley, whose own recording, like Pery Ribeiro’s, was arranged by Lyrio Panicali.

The identity of the other two musicians in the trio is not revealed on the cover of Bossa G, the only album by pianist José Geraldo. However, there is a rumour that Kenny Burrell’s guitar can be heard on at least some of the tracks.

Selected recordings of O Que Eu Gosto de Você:

1. Sylvio Cézar from the single Preciso Dar um Jeito b/w O Que Eu Gosto de Você (1962, Musidisc M-78-013) and the album Amor Demais (1963, Musidisc Hi-Fi 2074)

   
Artwork for Amor Demais by Joselito with photograph by Mafra

2. Os Farroupilhas from the album Os Farroupilhas (1963, Farroupilha LPFR-601)

   

3. Ely Arcoverde from the album O Órgão Que Canta Sambas Vol. 2 (1963, RGE XRLP 5212)

   

4. Dóris Monteiro from the album Gostoso é Sambar (1963, Philips P 632.130 L)

   
Artwork for Gostoso é Sambar by Paulo Brèves with photograph by Mafra

5. Walter Gonçalves aka Waltinho from the album Magi Ritmo (1963, Magisom GMLP 1010)

   

6. Sebastião Tapajós featuring Luiz Olavo from the album Apresentando Sebastião Tapajós (1963, Entré/CBS 4025)

   

7. Geraldo Trio from the album Bossa G (1963, Chantecler CMG 2246)

   

8. Pery Ribeiro from the album Pery é Todo Bossa (1963, Odeon MOFB 3314)

   
Artwork for Pery é Todo Bossa with photograph by Mafra

9. Walter Wanderley from the album Samba no Esquema de Walter Wanderley (1963, Odeon MOFB 3358)


Artwork for Samba no Esquema de Walter Wanderley by Moacyr Rocha witg photograph by Klaus Werner

10. Orquestra Os Modernistas from the album Baile Moderno (1964, Chantecler CMG 2271)

   

11. Manfredo Fest from the album Evolução (1964, RGE XRLP 5236)

   

12. Os Velhinhos Transviados from the album Embalados (1965, RCA Victor BBL 1319)

   

13. Agnaldo Rayol from the album As Minhas Preferida (1968, Copacabana CLP 11523)

   

Selected medleys including O Que Eu Gosto de Você:

1. Conjunto Boa Bossa from the EP Só Danço Bossa Nova (1963, Odeon 7BD-1069)

   

O QUE EU GOSTO DE VOCÊ

O que eu gosto de você • É esse seu jeitinho de falar • É esse seu jeitinho de sorrir • Esse sorriso lindo como que!

O que eu não gosto de você • É esse seu olhar indiferente • Que machuca tanto a gente • Quando a gente fala com você

Eu não sei bem porque • Fui gostar mesmo assim • Sem saber se você • Vai gostar de mim

Mas o que eu sinto por você • Já é definitivo, não tem jeito • Já não vivo satisfeito • Esperando sempre por você • Adoro esse seu jeito • De pensar e de ser • Será que não há jeito • De você compreender • Que no meu dicionário • Só existe uma palavra: Você!

Thank you for your response!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.