No. 38 — Pages 100-101: Myrzo Barroso | Os Farroupilhas | As Mais Famosas Versões

  • Côro de Joab Teixeira, Dolores Barrios, Jairo Aguiar, Roberto Audi, Antônio Martins, Lamartine Babo, Roberto Silva, Gilberto Alves — As Mais Famosas Versões
    (1960) Copacabana CLP 11154
  • Os Farroupilhas — Gaúchos na Cidade
    (1960) Columbia LPCB 37027
  • Nilo Amara & Seus Cantores de Ébano — Os Anjos Cantam
    (1962) Odeon MOFB 3260
  • Astor Silva, Osvaldo Borba — Metais em Brasa no Samba
    (1962) Philips P 630.477 L
  • Breno Sauer — Viva a Música
    (1960) Columbia LPCB 37095
  • Myrzo Barroso — Myrzo
    (1965) RCA Victor BBL 1313
  • Sérgio Mendes — Dance Moderno
    (1962) Philips P 630.491 L
  • Quatro Ases e um Curinga — É com Esse Que Eu Vou
    (1961) Odeon MOFB 3201
  • Henrique Simonetti — É Disco… Que Eu Gosto No. 2
    (1959) RGE XRLP 5053

This double-page spread from the book features the far too little known singer Myrzo Barroso and the well-known vocal group Os Farroupilhas.

Although a number of singers rose to fame with just one album under their belt, Myrzo Fonseca Barroso (†1974) is unjustly less known than others. Moreover, there is virtually no information about him. It seems as if Myrzo Barroso had been involved with the music scene in Rio de Janeiro since the early sixties. He made his recording debut as guest vocalist of Conjunto 7 de Ouros on their second album Impacto! in 1964, singing the only recorded version of Meu Pranto by Baden Powell and Mário Telles.

In 1965, Myrzo Barroso released his sole album Myrzo. Orlando Silva de Oliveira Costa aka Cipó, who played tenor sax on Impacto!, arranged the lavish yet subtle orchestrations directed by Zaccarias. Apart from some standards, Myrzo contains the only recorded versions of O Que Se Faz by Rildo Hora and Gracindo Jr., Melhor Que Tudo Mais Que Existe by Roberto Jorge, and the infatuating Saudade Azul by Sérgio Malta, as well as the first recording of Por Quê by Geraldo Vespar and Mário Telles. Later that year, Myrzo Barroso’s rendition of Negro by Roberto Menescal and Ronaldo Bôscoli was included on the compilation album Movimento 65, featuring also the likes of Leny Andrade, Raul de Souza, Luiza and others. The final detectable recording by Myrzo Barroso was his participation on Bossa e Agogô by Kuntz Naegele’s one-time group Copa Combo in 1968.

Playlist Myrzo Barroso:
1. Caminho (Chico Feitosa – Marcos Vasconcellos) from the album Myrzo (1965)
2. Saudade Azul (Sérgio Malta) from the album Myrzo (1965)
3. Por Quê (Geraldo Vespar – Mário Telles) from the album Myrzo (1965)
4. O Amor em Paz (Antônio Carlos Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes) from the album Myrzo (1965)

The art work for Myrzo is by J. Moreira with photograph by Mafra.


The art work for Os Anjos Cantam is uncredited with photograph by Francisco Pereira.


Os Farroupilhas or Conjunto Farroupilha was formed in 1948 by Danilo Vital de Castro (*1927), Tasso José Bangel (*1931), Iná Bangel (*1933) and Estrêla d’Alva Lopes de Castro (*1934). Originally dedicated to perform at Rádio Farroupilha in Porto Alegre a repertoire of gaucho songs from Rio Grande do Sul, the most southern Federal State of Brazil, the group quickly met with success throughout Brazil. For some years Os Farroupilhas entered an agreement with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, promoting Brazil across the world. Parts of the group’s specific repertoire, mixing samba, toada, chá-chá-chá and fox with songs like Liechtensteiner Polka or Come Sinfonia, originated from their international touring when they closed each show with a song of alleged typical local colour.

By around 1960, Sidney do Espírito Santo (*1925) joined the group and some time later Vital de Castro left. Os Farroupilhas successfully brushed up their albums with song from the bossa nova catalogue like Insensatez and Por Causa De Você, Menina, yet maintaining their trademark of close polyphonic vocal harmonies. In 1963, Tasso Bangel and Danilo Vidal founded the record label Farroupilha, which published legendary albums by Pedrinho Mattar, Jongo Trio, Dois & Ela, Altivo Penteado aka ‘Garoto’, Os Poligonais, Flora Purim and Os Tatuís. The group disbanded in 1971 after 15 original albums, sometimes recorded while abroad in Germany or the USSR.

Playlist Os Farroupilhas:
1. Por Causa De Você, Menina (Jorge Ben) from the album Os Farroupilhas (1963)
2. Não Diga Não (Tito Madi – Georges Henry) from the album Os Farroupilhas em Hi-Fi (1960)
3. A Felicidade (Antônio Carlos Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes) from the album Os Farroupilhas em Hi-Fi (1960)
4. João Sebastião Bach (Dick Farney – Nestor Campos) from the album Os Farroupilhas (1963)

The art work of Gaúchos na Cidade is uncredited.


Henrique Simonetti — É Disco... Que Eu Gosto No. 2 (a)    Henrique Simonetti — É Disco... Que Eu Gosto No. 2 (b)

The art work for É com Esse Que Eu Vou is by Cesar G. Villela with photographs by Francisco Perreira.

Quatro Ases e um Curinga — É com Esse Que Eu Vou (a)    Quatro Ases e um Curinga — É com Esse Que Eu Vou (b)

The art work for Dance Moderno is by Paulo Brèves with photograph by Mafra.

Sérgio Mendes — Dance Moderno (a)   

The album As Mais Famosas Versões was produced by composer Lamartine Babo (1904-1963) as a compilation of his favourite international songs from the twenties to the forties, with arrangements by Gustavo de Carvalho aka Guaraná, Renato de Oliveira and José Pacheco Lins aka Pachequinho. Among the featured vocalists, Jairo Aguiar and Roberto Audi perform charming renditions of the classic hits from ‘Casablanca’ and ‘Gay Divorcee’ with Brazilian lyrics.

Playlist As Mais Famosas Versões:
1. O Amor é Sempre Amor (As Time Goes By) (Herman Hupfeld – Jair Amorim) from the album As Mais Famosas Versões (1960) with Jairo Aguiar
2. Noite e Dia (Night and Day) (Cole Porter – Lamartine Babo) from the album As Mais Famosas Versões (1960) with Roberto Audi & Côro Misto de Joab Teixeira

The art work for As Mais Famosas Versões is by Mário Antonio.


Thank you for your response!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.