No. 32 — Pages 118-119: Breno Sauer | Os Cobras

  • Os Cobras — O LP
    (1964) RCA Victor BBL 1290
  • Erlon Chaves — Sabadabada
    (1965) Continental PPL 12188
  • Jota Júnior — Nova Bossa Nova
    (1966) Musidisc Hi-Fi 2132
  • José Roberto Bertrami — José Roberto Trio
    (1966) Farroupilha LPFA 420
  • Breno Sauer — Viva a Bossa
    (1963) Entré/CBS 4026
  • Os Megatons — Os Megatons
    (1965) Philips P 632.747 L
  • Leda Soares — Leda Soares
    (196?) Polydor CS/552
  • Dóris Monteiro — Doris Monteiro
    (1964) Philips P 632.735 L
  • Os Seis em Ponto — Os Seis em Ponto
    (1964) RGE XRLP 5264
  • Pery Ribeiro — Eu Gosto da Vida
    (1961) Odeon MOFB 3213


This double-page spread from the book features multi-instrumentalist Breno Sauer and “the other” Os Cobras.

Breno Sauer (1929-2017) was born into a musical family in Porto Alegre, with a father and three brothers playing drums, guitar and accordion. He tried all three instruments before opting for the accordion. Deeply impressed by The Art Van Damme Quintet, Sauer was eager to have his own group with the very same line-up of electric guitar, vibraphone, bass, drums and accordion. However, Breno Sauer had to give up the accordion in the early sixties due to health problems, switching to the vibraphone, which he played until 1967, when his quartet broke up. As a result, Breno Sauer switched his main instrument once more, sticking to the piano since then.

From 1959 to 1966, Breno Sauer released six original albums plus one compilation. The first two albums, the 1959 debut Viva o Samba and the 1960 successor Viva a Música presented Altivo Penteado ‘Garôto’ on vibrafone, Olmir Stocker ‘Alemão’ on guitar, Gabriel Jorge Bahlis ‘Turco’ on bass and Afonso Cid ‘Pirata’ on drums as a quintet joining Breno Sauer on the accordion. The same line-up accompanied singer Agostinho dos Santos on the b-side of his 1960 album Agostinho, Sempre Agostinho, although credited only as Conjunto RGE. The line-up of the 1962 album Viva o Ritmo seems not detectable which is why the change from accordion to vibraphone is difficult to date back. In 1963, the album Sambabessa featured Breno Sauer on vibraphone, Osvaldo Carrero on accordion, Olmir Stocker on guitar, Ernê Eger on bass and Portinho on drums. The same year, Viva a Bossa compiled fourteen songs from the first four albums.

In 1965 and 1966, Breno Sauer released his probably best-known albums, 4 na Bossa and 4 no Sucesso, featuring himself on vibrafone, Adão on piano, Ernê Eger on bass, and Portinho on drums. From 1967 on this quartet was travelling extensively throughout Mexico and the US for several years, before Breno Sauer settled in New York to continue his career.

Although Breno Sauer was quite rightly very successful during his prime in the sixties, he seems rather underestimated today. This is regrettable, since his accomplished work, admiring models such as the Modern Jazz Quartet, deserves closer attention.

Playlist Breno Sauer:
1. Lembranças (Raul Sampaio – Benil Santos) from the album Sambabessa (1963)
2. A Felicidade (Antônio Carlos Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes) from the album Viva o Samba (1959)
3. O Amor em Paz (Antônio Carlos Jobim – Vinícius de Moraes) from the album 4 na Bossa (1965)
4. Desafinado (Raul Sampaio – Benil Santos) from the album Sambabessa (1963)
5. Mr. Gershwin (The Man I Love) (George Gershwin – Ira Gershwin) from the album Viva o Samba (1959)
6. Ninguém Podera Julgar-me (Nessuno Mi Puo’ Giudicare) (Daniele Pace – Mario Panzeri – Luciano Beretta – Miki Del Prete) from the album 4 no Sucesso (1966)
7. Discussão (Antônio Carlos Jobim – Newton Mendonça) from the album Viva o Ritmo (1962)
8. Você (Roberto Menescal – Ronaldo Bôscoli) from the album 4 na Bossa (1965)
9. Frenesi (Alberto Borras Dominguez) from the album Viva o Samba (1959)
10. Aline (Christophe) from the album 4 no Sucesso (1966)

The eye-catching art-work for Viva e Bossa in unidentified.

The art work for José Roberto Trio is by Antônio Melero.

The art work for Nova Bossa Nova is by Joselito with photograph by Mafra.

The art work for Os Seis em Ponto is by Otaviano Mello and Raul Vogh with photograph by Renato Landin.

The art work for Doris Monteiro is by Paulo Brèves with photograph by Mafra.

As stated previously in → No. 22 — Pages 30-31, Os Cobras was the name of two one-time projects with different line-ups in 1960 and 1964. The second Os Cobras was a septet including Tenório Jr. on piano, Raul de Souza on trombone, Hamilton on cornet, J.T. Meirelles on alto sax and flute, Paulo Moura on alto sax, José Carlos ‘Zezinho’ on bass and Milton Banana on drums, inviting Jorginho on flute, Aurino on baritone sax, Cipó on tenor sax, Roberto Menescal on guitar and Ugo Marota on vibraphone for guest appearances on their recording session under musical direction by Maestro Zaccarias. Unfortunatley, the critically acclaimed album O LP was their only joint effort, still ranking as one of the most remarkable samba-bossa albums.

Playlist Os Cobras:
1. Uganda (Orlandivo – Roberto Jorge) from the album O LP (1964)
2. Chão (Amaury Tristão – Roberto Jorge) from the album O LP (1964)
3. Adriana (Roberto Menescal – Luis Fernando Freire) from the album O LP (1964)
4. Mar Amar (Roberto Menescal – Ronaldo Bôscoli) from the album O LP (1964)

The art-work for O LP is by J. Moreira.

Pery Ribeiro — Eu Gosto da Vida   

Os Megatons — Os Megatons    Leda Soares — Leda Soares


Thank you for your response!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.